Can a Dollhouse make you Happy?

My first dollhouse was a complete disaster.  My father purchased a wood model kit from a woodshop located in the mall where his office resided.  It was a six room Victorian (shockingly similar now that I think about it to our dream Victorian at www.digitaldollhouse.com. ) My dad, and this is being gentle, is not a handy type of guy and the construction of the house was well beyond him.  I think a neighbor stepped in to help.  My mother, and this is also being gentle, is not a patient woman and was itching to start decorating.  Very loud arguments ensued and I responded by getting up in the middle of the night and painting the interior of the incomplete house with black shoe polish. With my toothbrush. I think I was nine.

I wrote a short story about it in English class and won a local writing competition and was published.  I also got four sessions with a child psychologist who pronounced me creative but angry.  I liked him.  He always gave me Brach’s hard caramels during and after our sessions. And I remember thinking could a better dollhouse have make me happy?  Perhaps if I had better paints and wallpapers to work with it all would have worked out better.  Check out some of the lovely choices you have at www.digitaldollhouse.com.   No shoe polish!

Beautiful wallpapers for Digital Dollhouse

Beautiful wallpapers for Digital Dollhouse

Digital Dollhouse also features a gorgeous wallpaper selection from Burrows and Co. J.R Burrows and Co. are historical design merchants and their site has wonderful papers and stories about the history of wallpaper design.  We also have selections from the world-renowned company Bradbury and Bradbury. We had the opportunity to visit this artisan factory in California where they still make sheets of glorious wallpaper by hand.

Gorgeous paper from Bradbury and Bradbury

Gorgeous paper from Bradbury and Bradbury

A Digital Dollhouse Room with Bradbury papers

A Digital Dollhouse Room with Bradbury papers

There are so many paint and color options on Digital Dollhouse to  play with!

By the way, for some of you who need closure- my childhood dollhouse indeed got a much needed make over and my parents got a much needed divorce.

Jesyca

One response to “Can a Dollhouse make you Happy?

  1. Great post! I had a friend whose mother was a dollhouse collector. When I went to his house, she always had a huge 3-story victorian that she was working on. It’s cool to see how this toy has been updated for the modern age. Looking forward to more from Digital Dollhouse!

Leave a Reply

