A Garden in Digital Dollhouse

When I spent my cubicle years dreaming about having my own office, it honestly never included a corner window.  I have an irrational fear of industrial parks and my dream office tended more towards hardwood floors and lots of sun.  It also included a garden.  I am NOT a gardener.  I kill all houseplants and even hardy ficus trees trembles when I come near them.  When we moved into the Dollhouse there were a few large trees and about 15 potted rose  bushes.  The rest of the yard was a huge barren dust bin.  I have horrible allergies and the dust kept coming in through the doors so David and I decided we needed a garden.  With the help of our house gardener, Juan Becerra and our friend Chris Hammond (who plants have an affinity for) we tried to create the lowest maintenance garden possible.  Here are some pictures:

Some of our giant Hollyhocks

Some of our giant Hollyhocks

To save money, Juan brough over a truckfull of plants a nursery in Mexico.  We think the plants work extra hard because they are proud Latin immigrants.  And when I see some of those hollyhocks reach eight feet, I believe we are only half joking!

We are also fortunate to have a beautiful outdoor conference room.

Our outdoor meeting room

Our outdoor meeting room

And the bricks you see in this path are from the original house…well over 100 years old.

Path away from the house towards Julian's sandbox

Path away from the house towards Julian's sandbox

It truly is a dream to work here.

Leave a Reply

